Crochet Novice.

I have recently discovered the world of Crochet and Oh My God! What a wonderful world it is.

It all started a week ago on a lazy Friday afternoon, I was flicking from post to post on Pinterest looking at craft ideas to do with my nieces and nephew in the Easter holidays and happened upon a picture of a crochet Pikachu someone had made. Well…as you can imagine my interest was peaked.

Who was this cute little electric mouse? Who made him? Could I make him? How much more would my fiancΓ© worship me if I could hand him his very own homemade Pikachu?

A thousand clicks later, I was hooked. I was dreaming of the day when I too would have crocheted all original 150 PokΓ©mon. And something about that vision made me tingle all over with childlike wonder – suddenly the possibilities were endless.

Luckily, I didn’t have to wait long to get started. My mother-in-law happens to knit and had some spare yarn and a crochet hook for me to use.

Well, now all my friends and family think I’m some crazy old lady at age 28 because I get excited over the prospect of getting home so I can wrap myself in a blanket and crochet to my heart’s content while binge-watching episodes of Bones.

So far, I have been doing practice swatches but I have now moved on to crocheting a sleeve for my laptop so I’ll post again to let you guys know how I got on.

Stay Unique. Stay Creative.

25 thoughts on “Crochet Novice.

  1. Emma says:

    Don’t listen to them! There are actually so many young people who crochet and I think it’s great that you found something you love doing! I’m 25 and I wouldn’t stop for the world πŸ™‚ good luck with the 150 Pokemon πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Soul Gifts says:

    I LOOOOVE crochet! Have been doing it most of my life – well, since my teens. I notice your second project – from the side bar was fingerless gloves. Go you ! That’s not a beginner’s project. You must have mastered it pretty well to do that. I’m going through a crochet frenzy at the moment. I have phases where I do nothing for ages, and then WHAM! the itch hits. I have 3 on the go at the moment πŸ™‚
    Thanks for the follow – love to have you on board πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • HomemadeGeek says:

      I’ve fallen in love with it so much because I literally took to it like a duck to water. I was so surprised at how easy I found it – I was to expecting to struggle with it for at least a bit longer than an evening in front of the telly. I’m now tackling an Amigurumi Rainbow Unicorn plush toy pattern. Right back at you for the follow.

      Liked by 1 person

    • HomemadeGeek says:

      I know right! It’s amazing how therapeutic crochet is; you can let your mind drift while your hands do all the work. I’m usually a mentally driven person; overthinking and stressing. Now, I can sit for hours watching my favourite TV shows while the muscle memory takes over and helps me create something beautiful. My poor brain can finally relax 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 20017crochet says:

    I absolutely love pikachu! He is my all-time favorite. My oldest son, then7..now 28, carried him around all the time. Let us know how it turns out. I have been wanting to try crocheting some aragumi animals…but am chicken..lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • HomemadeGeek says:

      I was completely daunted by amigurumi at first and I knew a lot of the plush toys are worked in continuous circles so that’s why chose to make hats before attempting to make a toy and it seemed to work for me; I felt like I’d prepared myself well. I started with a unicorn pattern that came free with the Simply Crochet magazine and after I got over the initial fear of messing it up, it went a lot quicker and easier than I first thought. So don’t be afraid, relish in the challenge. 😁

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

