I Want To Be A Hooker.

Wow!!…Ok. This is what has happened so far in my crochet journey.

One week ago, I burst out of the closet and announced to my friends and family that I had made the decision to become a full-blown hooker – Life as I knew it had become a bit routine and I wanted to spice things up by learning a new skill and meet new people in the process.

Frantically, no one batted an eyelid. It wasn’t until I revealed the crochet hooks and yarn, I had been hoarding for a while, that I was met with copious amounts of ridicule and a few choruses of: “But, you’re not old.” and “All you need is a couple of cats now!”

Staying strong, I ignored the haters and carried on. They’re just jealous anyway because I’ll be the one with the army of PokΓ©mon plush toys and a Dobby hat with ears, of course! Since then, I’ve made a new laptop sleeve case and a pair of finger-less gloves/wrist warmers.

The laptop sleeve took me about 3-4 days, on and off (my poor fingers aren’t used to the manual labour), and measured 10.5″(W) x 15.5″(L) for my 15.6″ HP Laptop. This was also my first attempt at changing colours and it went surprisingly well. Yay me!!

  • 5mm hook
  • Medium weight double-knit (DK) yarn in white, blue and green.
  • Row 1 – Single crochet (US) / Double crochet (UK)
  • Subsequent rows – Half-Double crochet (US) / Half-Treble crochet (UK)
  • Last row – Single crochet (US) / Double crochet (UK)

new-phototastic-collage

I’ve already realised I have preference for the Half-Double crochet – it’s the crochet I think Goldilocks would’ve chosen; not too tight, not too loose, it’s just right!

Moving onto the wrist warmers, these were also surprisingly easy to make. I created my foundation chain then wrapped it around my hand to get the appropriate comfort for me – this can be anywhere between 25 and 35 chains depending on sizing – I was roughly 28 chains.

  • 3.5mm hook
  • Medium weight double-knit (DK) yarn in a pretty multi-colour.
  • Row 1 – Single crochet (US) / Double crochet (UK)
  • Subsequent rows – Half-Double crochet (US) / Half-Treble crochet (UK)
  • Last row – Single crochet (US) / Double crochet (UK)

phototastic-17_02_2017_aee80a6f-187c-422d-b5c0-7e52a23375f62

My finished gloves measure 6″ in length but you can just keep going until you’re happy with the length of your gloves – feel free to do them right up to your armpits if that’s what you’re into. I won’t ask any questions.

Once you’re finished crocheting the length, make sure to do an additional slipknot to finish and leave a long tail for stitching. Fold the swatch in half length-ways and lay your hand on top with your fingers spread out and note where your thumb would poke out the side of glove then stitch! Easy peasy!

So, to sum up, I’ve completed two projects, the haters have now eaten their words and the requests are now pouring in: two Yoda ears hats for my best friend’s boys, a scarf and iPod sleeve for her other half, a jumper for her Italian Greyhound, Presley, a messy bun beanie for my teenage sister, as well as some gifts for Mother’s Day. Think I’ll be busy for a while…

But first, there’s a Rainbow Unicorn plush pattern calling my name. See you on the other side and remember…Be Creative.

12 thoughts on “I Want To Be A Hooker.

  1. portapatetcormagis says:

    You know what will be a great feeling?
    When someone asks you where you got this or that from and you can just say with a smile:”Oh, I made it”. Make sure you catch the expression on their face when the jaw drops πŸ˜‰

    I had this once with a crochet lace shawl I was wearing. Awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

    • HomemadeGeek says:

      I will remember to keep my camera on hand to snap a cheeky selfie with them. I might even slip in a quick “nudge, nudge, wink, wink – only cost me the price of a ball of yarn” and then runaway laughing manically at my thriftyness haha πŸ˜†

      Liked by 1 person

      • HomemadeGeek says:

        Of course! 😁 I’ve already made my first trip to my local wool shop with a friend who wants to get back into her knitting and we were like kids in a candy shop; there were so many beautiful colours to choose. I’m already trying to decide how I could do justice to a gorgeous rainbow yarn they had. But I was sensible and opted for a medium weight Bonus DK yarn in a Slate Grey (Β£1.95 for 100g) for my Bow Tie Hat project which I will be posting about shortly, failings and all lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • portapatetcormagis says:

        πŸ™‚ Yarn shopping makes for a great day out. I’ll be waiting for your Bow Tie Hat.
        At the moment I’m busy with a sewing project but I hope that I can soon go back to some yarn

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

