How I Became A Jedi Master.

Well…interesting story. Thanks for asking.

A few weeks ago, I told my friend, Rachel, that I’d decided to take up a new hobby (of course it was crochet because what else is there in life?!).

Her response was a variation on the others I’d gotten at first – I’m pretty sure cats were mentioned in there somewhere. But overall, she was positive and encouraging (SPOILER ALERT: She’s now obsessed with her knitting as much as I am with my crochet. Round 1 goes to me I think. Mwahahaha.)

Anyway, this is pretty much how it went. After copious amounts of coffee and cheesy scones, I scampered off home in time for cooking dinner before a well-earned dose of Coronation Street. A couple hours later, happily enjoying the soapy goodness of TV…BEEP. BEEP…oh look, it’s a message from Rachel, what could she possibly want. I opened the message and this popped up:

yoda

Now, a bit of info on Rachel: She has two little boys who absolutely love Star Wars, so really this shouldn’t have been a surprise. Haha.

Anyone who has ever gone through the amusing and possibly slightly regrettable experience of telling their friends and family about their new hobby, will know about the 4 stages of Craft-Envy that inevitably follow:

  • 1st stage – Denial  – This usually presents itself in the form of mockery. All of the above are common reactions – Cats, Old, Grandma, etc…

  • 2nd stage – Curiosity – This usually happens almost immediately after you leave the room. They’ll start casually perusing Pinterest, wondering if craft is still just for old people.

  • 3rd stage – Acceptance – They’ve started to realise that it actually might be kinda cool to be able to make something yourself; a new hat or scarf or even a pair of gloves to match.

  • 4th stage – Uncontrollable Greed – This stage will come charging into your life like a hyperactive toddler on a sugar rush and it won’t go away easily. The only way to deal with it is to throw it small treats, little and often, and wait for it to full asleep through sheer exhaustion.

Craft hobbies are not for the faint-hearted!!

And back to the hats…So I have a picture and two little boys happiness on the line, what is a girl to do but accept.

So after googling for almost 60 seconds, I came across a free pattern. Although this pattern caters for the whole hat including beanie style. I opted to use 2 different patterns:

  1. Beginner Beanie Tutorial by Melanie Ham:

2. Yoda Hat Patterns (for the ears) by KnotYourNanasCrochet: http://www.knotyournanascrochet.com/2012/10/crochet-yoda-hat.html 

I used a 4.5mm hook and Hayfield Extra Value Bonus DK Yarn in Shade 0825. A 100g ball or skein will make two hats (21 inch head circumference and 8 1/2 inch length).

Two days later, and…Voila!

17142152_10154482811263380_845371133_o

I’ve been informed since that the youngest had a little wobble because he wasn’t allowed to sleep in his hat. Well, Rachel, you brought it on yourself. Haha.

Hope you enjoyed reading my post.

Have a great day and Stay Creative.

P.s: This hat made in a flesh tone also works well for Dobby the House Elf from the Harry Potter series.

 

10 thoughts on “How I Became A Jedi Master.

    • HomemadeGeek says:

      Yeah. I’ve been swamped in yarn over the last couple of weeks, working my fingers to the bone, making one project after another: Unicorn Dolls for my nieces, Yoda Hats for my friend’s boys, Socks for my brother and now I’m making Mother’s Day gifts for my mum and mother-in-law. So I thought I’ll have a tea break and let you guys know what I’ve been up to. 😀

      Like

  1. handmade habit says:

    What awesome yoda hats. Great ears! Happy to read about your foray into crochet. I’ve tried in January, but have put the hooks down for the time being. The post nails the 4 stages. Embracing craft is definitely not for the faint-hearted. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rediskot says:

    Aww, I’m a bit envious of you. My mom taught me to knit and crochet when I was a first grader, so I never really got this excitement from my close ones, as I’ve been unleashing pincushions, cosies and dolls on them non stop as I progressed.
    Careful about jumping into the next stage: where various acquaintances feel entitled to demand you make them complicated (and often costly in materials) things for free, once you’re good enough to sell your stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

