Birthday Blues.

Yesterday, I finally finished the cosy socks I’ve been making for my baby brother’s 22nd birthday.

To be perfectly honest, as I slipped the parcel into the outbox at the Post Office, I uttered a HUGE sigh of relief.

This project was the most frustrating I’ve come across so far in my crochet journey and I brought it on myself so I can’t really complain.

I was so eager and excited to just be making things that I kept asking my brother if he was really sure that he didn’t want me to make him anything. I asked him again last week and he finally gave in and requested some cosy socks for his birthday. My mother-in-law had some James C Brett Marble Chunky yarn in blue left over from a previous project that would be perfect so I started combing the web for a good pattern and found one via Ravelry: http://www.crochetandknitting.com/mensock.htm

2305306506_fd36057136_z

Little did I know what I was taking on!

So I had my yarn and my chosen pattern. I was a little nervous as I started the ankle tube of the first sock which came out a little loose but I thought it would be fine. I carried onto the heel and the foot of the sock. Tied it off and felt pretty good about my achievement.

Then came the second sock. I was more confident by now so my tension naturally tightened a bit and the second ankle tube came out smaller than the first but I thought: It’s handmade, he won’t mind. So, I carried onto the heel and the foot. It was at this point, I realised my ball of yarn was shrinking dramatically quicker than I’d like and was starting to pray it would last…

8 rows to go. Come on, you can do it. 6 rows to go. Please last, please. 5. Come on. 4. Please, please, please. 3. DAMN IT!!

So a little peeved and a little panicked right now.

Went back to my local wool shop: Hours Knits and Stitches, Sittingbourne. They didn’t have any more of the wool I needed and turned out it may have been discontinued last year. Wonderful.

So I was left with very few options. I unravelled the first sock, thinking that it would at least free up enough yarn to finish the second one. This turned out to be the best thing I could’ve done. I remade the first sock with yarn to spare but I’d also realised that originally I had slip-stitched the seam of the heel on the wrong side so the seam was exposed. I rectified my mistake and finished the sock.

I went back to the second sock and unravelled up to the heel seam, turned it the right way and slip-stitched it closed again and carried on with the foot.

DRUM ROLL, PLEASE!!

Here we have two finished cosy socks for men. They measure 10 1/2 – 11 inches foot length.

WP_20170307_20_37_19_Pro

Let me know about your most frustrating projects in the comments below.

Stay Creative.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Birthday Blues.

  1. PaperPuff says:

    They look very impressive and cosy too. Lucky brother! I am currently knitting a scarf for my mum. But because I can’t un-knit (my brain just won’t make it happen) if I make a mistake I basically have to unravel it and start again! I am on attempt number three at the moment and it is not even a hard pattern…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

